Vezina 09′

So as we inch our way towards the final buzzer on the 08-09′ NHL season, the debate over who deserves the regular season awards is well underway.  The one that intruiges me the most is the race for the NHL Vezina award.

As you know, I’m a Bruins fan, but I’d like to think that my homerist attitude isn’t clouding my vision because Tim Thomas has simply put, been the biggest part of his teams success out of any NHL netminder.

We can examine the stats (30 wins/2.12 GAA/.931 SV%/4 SO) and it becomes evident that even without the superior firepower the Bruins brought to the table for a 20 game stretch, this team STILL makes the playoffs riding Tommy’s shoulders.

BUT because I am a Bruins Fan, I’ll let you folks tell ME who deserves the Vezina. 

Vote Away!

This entry was posted in NHL and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Vezina 09′

  1. Rob Savoie says:

    Brodeur shouldn’t win the Vezina this year.

    I’m going with Kipp or Timmy T.

    Oh, and in other goalie news, Manny calls it quits:

    “Uh, no. I think this is one of my last runs. You never know, but it’s going to be a summer I think (in which) the whole family is going to have to sit down and really talk about this. It’s been a good run. I’ve had ups and downs. I’ve got to look physically at if I can still accomplish all these things.”

    – Boston backup goalie Manny Fernandez when asked if he wanted to be a starter in the NHL again.

Leave a comment